Rubric Ideas

A main component of any course of study is assessment. It is important for instructors to know to what degree students have grasped knowledge, as well as it is critical for life long learners to self-assess.

Personally, I like knowing what is expected of me before I enter a battle. I want to be prepared to perform at a level that will bring me the best results. Who wouldn’t right? So, when I am assessed it helps me to perform better knowing what is considered to be exemplary and what is considered to be under par.

A well-written rubric is ultimately the most convenient way to convey expected behaviors. Fortunately, there are many terrific resources on the Internet for faculty to use as a basis for writing one. For your convenience, I’ve included a few resources I like:

Assessment Rubrics

Authentic Assessment Toolbox

Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Assessments & Rubrics

Leave a Reply

